The Tarot Suit Meanings

The Suits of the Tarot cards 

There are four suits in the Tarot cards and each suit has a different meaning.
The four suits are Wands, Swords, Cups and Pentacles. Now before we get on to what each suit means I would like to point out depending on which tarot card deck you are using these suits may come under a different heading.

So for those of you not using the Raider Waite deck, which does use the above names, let me explain the other names you may come across in other decks.

Wands also known as staves, clubs, rods, staffs, and even batons
Swords also known as daggers, blades or knives
Cups also known as chalices, bowls, cauldrons
Pentacles also known as coins and disks

It makes no difference what they are called they still have the same meanings behind them, the only difference is which deck you use and how they are called in those decks.

So then what do the Suits actually mean? 
The Suit of Wands is representative of the element of Fire. They have to do with energy; spirituality, inspiration, determination, strength, intuition, creativity, and ambition Wands deal with the spiritual level of consciousness and reflect what is important to you. They address our personalities, egos, enthusiasms, and personal energy, both internal and external. Wands are also indicative of things you do during the day, working at the office, home or outdoors. Wands have to do with movement, action and plans and the initiation of new ideas. Seasonal attribute is Spring

The Suit of Swords is representative of the element of Air. Swords are associated with action, change, force, power, oppression, ambition, courage and conflict. This suit can also mean hatred, battle, and enemies, and of all the suits, this one is considered to be the most powerful and dangerous. The Suit of Swords deals with the mental level of consciousness that is centred on the mind and mental power. Swords reflect the quality of mind present in your thoughts, attitudes, and beliefs. Swords are double-edged and represent the balance between intellect and power and how they can be used for good or evil. Seasonal attribute is Winter.

The Suit of Cups is representative of the element of water. Cups deal with the emotional level of consciousness and are associated with love, feelings, relationships and connections. Cups are about displays of emotion, expression of feelings and the role of emotions in relation to others. Cups indicate that you are thinking with your heart rather than your head, and therefore reflect your impulsive responses and your usual responses to situations. Cups are also linked to creativity, idealism, fantasy and imagination. Seasonal attribute is Summer.

The Suit of Pentacles represents element of Earth. Earth covers the more ordinary material things of life, work, business, trade, property, money and other material possessions. Pentacles deal with the physical or external level of consciousness and reflect your health, finances, work, and imagination. Seasonal attribute is Autumn.


tarot card meanings said...

I like your tarot cards vision, it is very close from the original meanings of the ancient deck which is the most important because too many people give some bad interpretations of cards just because they want to be unique...
Good Job and good point of view!

Post a Comment