The lesser Sabbats

The four lesser Sabbats
Winter Solstice - also known as Yule or Christmas celebrated 25th December. The date is set as December 25th but for Wiccan and Pagans we are actually celebrating the winter solstice, which occurs on or about the 21st of December.

Vernal Equinox - also known as Ostara, Spring Equinox, Lady Day
Date: March 21st. The Vernal or Spring Equinox is the time of year when day and night are equal with daylight increasing from this day onwards.

Summer Solstice - also known as Litha or Midsummer's Day
Date: June 21st. The Summer Solstice is the longest day and shortest night of the year. Commonly referred to as Midsummer's Day as this day marks the middle of summer when the sun is at its peek.

Autumn Equinox - also known as Mabon or the Harvest Festival
Date: September 21st. The Autumn Equinox is the second day of the year when night and day are of equal length.
The Sabbats, both Greater and Lesser, are a highly important part of modern Wiccan practice. They are holy days, celebrations, and an opportunity to reflect, all in one.


Post a comment